

Community Advisory Committees

Name of Committee: Community Use of Schools Community Advisory Committee

Meeting Date: 14 January 2020

A meeting of the Community Use of Schools Community Advisory Committee convened on 14 January 2020 from 8:00 a.m. to 9:23 a.m. in Boardroom at 5050 Yonge Street with Co-Chairs Michelle Aarts and Judy Gargaro presiding.

Attendance:

Michelle Aarts (Trustee), Judy Gargaro (Etobicoke Philharmonic Orchestra), Susan Fletcher (SPACE), Sam Glazer (Congregation Beth Haminyan), Alan Hrabinski (Toronto Basketball Association), Gerry Lang (Citizens For Life Long Learning), Dan MacLean (Trustee), Lynn Manning (Girl Guides of Canada, Ontario Council), Jonathan Wood (Toronto Accessible Sports Council), Doug Blair (North Toronto Soccer Club), Heather Mitchell (Toronto Sports Council)

Also present were TDSB Staff: Ugonma Ekeanyanwu (Acting Facility Permitting Team Leader), Ndaba Njobo (Facility Permitting Coordinator), Steve Shaw (Executive Officer), Tina Androutsos (Executive Assistant), Kevin Battaglia (TSAA)

The following participated by electronic means: Denise De Paola (TSAA)

Regrets:

Abdirahim Ali Rage (Muqdishu Soccer Club), Doug Blair (North Toronto Soccer Club), Mohamed Hassan (Muqdishu Football Club), Dave McNee (Quantum Sports and Learning Association), Chris Ricketts (Pool Support), Susanne Burkhardt (Applegrove Community Complex), Patrick Rutledge (Big League Book Club), Dennis Keshinro (Belka Enrichment Centre), Luetasha Watkins (The Learning Enrichment Foundation), Alex Viliansky (Felix Swim School), Shirley Adderley (Manager Facility Issues & System Liaison), John Long (Senior Manager, Plant Operations & Community Use)

Part A: Recommendations

None

Part B: For Information Only

The Committee reviewed changes to the Frequently Asked Questions on the Permits website. The Permit Department updates/adds new FAQ's when staff receives 4 or 5 questions that are similar in nature.

The committee received the list and map of Local Neighbourhood Support Schools where no cost permits are available.

The Permits department is fully staffed now and getting ready to process the summer outdoor permits.

The committee had questions around how not for profit status is determined and how rate categories are allocated, for example, if an organization has adult and children programs, do they pay the same rate for each. An explanation was provided that categories change according to specific activities and the established fee structure explains the breakdown.

There were questions as to the potential impact of the current labour situation on Permits at the TDSB. We do not expect any cancellations at this time, but we are monitoring the situation.

Community Co-Chair position – Judy Gargaro was elected as the community co-chair for another term.

Category A membership vacancy - Narni Santos (The Learning Enrichment Foundation) was appointed as an additional member in the Children category.

The Co-Chairs will work with Michelle Munroe's office to develop a New Member Orientation process, similar to what exists with other Committees.

The committee discussed the minutes and the timelines. In order to better meet timelines for reports to Program and School Services Committee, draft minutes will be circulated to the committee, ideally one week after each meeting, then draft minutes can be posted within 2 weeks of the meeting date.

Trustee Update:

The committee inquired about the 2020-2021 budget and Trustees responded that the Ministry has indicated that the provincial allocation for grants will be the same overall, but no details are available about how this applies to the TDSB.

The ICAC (Inner City Advisory Committee) requested that someone from this committee attend one of their meetings and vice versa. Community Support Workers are engaging

our communities and local community support programs help promote our high needs communities. The two Co-Chairs will discuss how this will work.

Part C: Ongoing Matters

None

Report Submitted by: Steve Shaw