

Community Advisory Committees

Name of Committee: Environmental Sustainability Community Advisory Committee

Meeting Date: 4, May, 2021

A meeting of the Environment and Sustainability Community Advisory Committee convened on May 4, 2021 from 6:31 p.m. to 8:05 p.m. via Zoom Video Conferencing, with Sheila Cary-Meagher presiding.

Attendance:

Sheila Cary-Meagher (Community Co-Chair), Manna Wong (Trustee, Ward 20), Michelle Aarts (Trustee, Ward 16), Lindsay Bunce (EcoSchools Canada), Barbara Falby (For our Grandchildren), Haley Higdon (Natural Curiosity), Anne Keary (Parent), Debby Martin (Community Member), Bob Spencer (Community Member), Vince Schutt (Enviromentum), Stefan Sommer (CUPE and Andrea Stephens (Parent).

Also present were: Biz Ahrens (TDSB), Richard Christie (TDSB), Esther Collier (TDSB), Kelly Crosthwaite (TDSB), Kristen Evers (TDSB), David Hawker-Budlovsky (TDSB), Grace Keeble (TDSB), Peyton Leung (TDSB), Linda Naccarato (TDSB), Naomi Quarcoopome (TDSB), Leah Robertson (TDSB), Gigi Shanks (TDSB) and Jenn Vetter (TDSB).

Regrets:

Hilary Inwood (OISE), Catherine Leighton (TRCA) and Brenda Simon

(Natural Curiosity).

Part A: Recommendations

No recommendations to report.

Part B: For Information Only

The Senior Manager, Sustainability, provided an overview of the TDSB's 2020/21 environmental initiatives, focusing on governance, partnerships, teaching and learning and facilities and operations.

ESCAC provided feedback on what environmental initiatives the TDSB should prioritize in the 2021/22 school year.

ESCAC was informed that a session will be scheduled in June 2021 for members to provide feedback on indoor solar signs.

ESCAC's Annual Report was reviewed and an end of year survey was distributed.

Part C: Ongoing Matters

No ongoing matters to report.

Report Submitted by: Richard Christie